

The New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators Inc.

Minutes of the New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators Incorporated Annual General Meeting held at the Brentwood Hotel, Kilbirnie, Wellington on Friday 2nd July 2021 @ 4.45pm.

Present: Wayne Young President

Harald Leeuwenburgh
Peter Sheppard
Vice President / Northern Delegate
Honorary Chief Executive Officer

Peter Elder Secretary
Juliet Dailey Treasurer

Liz McLellan Central Delegate
Kevin Bannan Upper South Delegate
Carolyn Ax Middle South Delegate
Gemma Scott Lower South Delegate
Brian Bagley Heavy Traffic Delegate

Barry Ibell Member Ben Davis Member **Brad Darling** Member Bruce Fox Member Bruce McCall Member Caitlyn Ross Member Claire Longman Member Member Daniel Sutherland Member **Emily Reeves** Member **Graeme Dalley** Graham Alexander Member **Guneet Singh** Member Johnny Roverts Member Lynette Ross Member Martin Vickermann Member Lu Maultsaid Member Manu Patel Member Michael Doran Member Michael Raos Member Mike Gubb Member Mon Smedley Member Muneeb Chand Member Peter Hookham Member Peter Remington Member Member Ross McGreevy Member Sarah Bailey Sarah-Jane Jackson Member Tim Hartnell Member Vicki Wright Member

1. Welcome present and apologies

Wayne opened the meeting and welcomed members. Apology: Rebecca Hanrahan

2. Conflicts of Interest

Nothing that affects this meeting was declared.

Mission Statement



The New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators Inc.

3. Minutes of the previous meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Friday 07 August 2020 were circulated at the meeting.

Motion That the minutes for the NZIDE Annual General Meeting Friday 07 August 2020 be approved and adopted as a true and correct record of the meeting.

Moved Liz McLellan

Seconded Harald Leeuwenburgh

Carried

4. Business Arising from Minutes

None.

5. Presidents Report

National membership to NZIDE has increased from last year. Webinar workshops on Monday evenings were well attended. Southern members were reorgnaised into Upper-South, Mid-South and Lower-South. The N3 Limited group buying scheme (Government Supply Brokerage Corporation (NZ) Limited) is an NZIDE member benefit. Members enrolled in the scheme save from main retailers. N3 continues as a member benefit for 2021-2022.

The NZIDE website has been updated and will be live soon. Street Talk is doing well. Harold and Wayne have worked hard to update the video clips. Wayne informed everyone that he was stepping down as President but will remain on the NZIDE Executive Committee as the past President.

Motion That the Presidents Report be adopted.

Moved Bruce McCall

Seconded Johnny Roverts

Carried

6. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurers report was circulated at the meeting and read. Juilet Dalley presented the report. The report included financial statements for NZIDE and NZIDI. NZIDI is 100% owned by NZIDE. NZIDI is the for-profit entity of NZIDE.

Motion That the financial report be adopted.

Moved Bruce McCall

Seconded Brian Bagley

Carried

7. NZIDI Report

Reported in the Treasurer's Report.



The New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators Inc.

8. Election of NZIDE Officers and Acceptance of Delegates

Two members were nominated for the NZIDE Vice-President role:

- Carolyn Ax Carolyn was motioned by Peter Elder and seconded by Wayne Young. Peter spoke to his motion. Carolyn introduced herself.
- Tim Hartnell Tim was motioned by Frank Green and seconded by Brendon Williams. Emily Reeves spoke to the motion of Frank and Brendan. Tim introduced himself.

As per NZIDE Constitute rule 16(a) and rule 16(b) voting for Vice-President was by a majority of raise of hands.

Motion that those who vote for Carolyn Ax as Vice-President show your hands, that those who vote for Tim Hartnell as Vice-President show your hands.

Resolved that Carolyn Ax be Vice-President by a majority show of hands.

Noted no poll vote motion was put so no proxy votes were used. Two proxy votes were received.

Motion that uncontested nominees be accepted to the following positions;

Nominees Motion / Seconded Position President Peter Elder Wayne Young / Peter Sheppard Juliet Dalley Peter Sheppard / Carolyn Ax Treasurer Peter Elder Wayne Young / Peter Sheppard Secretary Harold Leeuwenburgh Wayne Young / Peter Sheppard Northern None received Mid Region Vacant Central Liz McLellan Peter Elder / Wayne Young Upper Southern Kevin Bannan Gemma Scott / Brian Bagley

Mid Southern Carolyn Ax Gemma Scott / Juliet Dalley Lower Southern Gemma Scott Harold Leeuwenburgh / Carolyn Ax

Moved Wayne Young

Second Harald Leeuwenburgh

Carried

It was noted the following positions are co-opted by the Executive Committee under rule 14(d)(2)

Motorcycle Duncan Seed Heavy Vehicle Brian Bagley Honorary CEO Peter Shepherd

Bruce McCall stated that Peter Elder will require support for the role of President and Secretary. The incoming Executive Committee plan to co-opt a person to the role of Secretary.

9. Appointment of Accountant

Motion That Kendons Chartered Accountants, 69 Rutherford St, Lower Hutt, New Zealand continue as appointed accountants for NZIDE over the 2022-2023 financial period.

Moved Kevin Bannan

Seconded Brian Bagley

Carried

10. Membership fees for 2021 / 2022

Motion: No fee change for 2021 / 2022

Moved: Liz McLellan Seconded: Tim Hartnell

Carried.

Mission Statement

To Promote and develop better driving standards among motorists and promote greater road safety by the encouragement of better driving through professional instruction.



The New Zealand Institute of Driver Educators Inc.

11. General Business

11.1. **Motion** that the NZIDE Constitution rule 14(i) change to'...at each Annual General Meeting of the Institute the Treasurer shall submit a statement, showing expenditure and income for the year, and the assets and liabilities of the Institute.

Moved Juliet Dalley Second Kevin Bannan Carried

11.2. **Motion** that the NZIDE Constitution rule 15(a) be altered to read 'The Annual General Meeting of the Institute shall be held in the month of August on a day and at a time and in a place to be appointed by the Executive.

Moved Wayne Young Second Harald Leeuwenburgh Carried

11.3. Motion that Wayne Young, Christine Young and Harald Leeuwenburgh be acknowledged for their outstanding contribution to NZIDE and the NZIDI StreetTalk programme over the last 15 years. **Moved** Peter Elder

Second Peter Sheppard

Carried

The next Annual General Meeting will be held at the Atura Hotel, 24 Hawkestone Street, Wellington on Friday 26th August 2022 at 4.30pm.

MEETING CLOSED 5.25pm